Reply To: Estate Agents Fees

Anonymous
Participant

Katy

I used to be a buyers agent before I became a musician and I also write for a lcoal newspaper and have been writing articles on buying a property in Spain since I first came here – actually before that when I first bought. I have had a vested interest in writing about buying in Spain (and wrote a small book on the suject) for about 5 years. You dont have to be an estate agent to be interested in property – my dream when I moved here was to be a developer. Buying run down properties doing them up and selling them on. I happened to chance into being an agent because I developed a database )my previous profession was software) for an agent.

The property I mentioned in this post is my own and is to show that I dont expect people to do something I am not prepared to do mysel – ie drop my price to the current market level. As I said eat my own dog food
Yes it is in an estate agents interest to get the value to a saleable level- but is it not also in the sellers interest. If no one is looking at the property let alone putting offers in then surely this suggests one of two things – the agent isnt working for their money or the market doesnt believe this property is worth looking at.

Whatever the media are telling us the real price of Spanish Property in this area is falling. They state it has risen by 10% in the past year yet this is the decalred value. Last year people were declaring 20-30% under value. This year becuase fines are being issued and foreigners generally wont under declare now anyway – the declared amount has risen – but the selling price has remained the same or in fact fallen. Thats not quite a 10% rise.